Taking the Whole Word to the Whole World

For the last three years I have been listening to the late Dr. McGee on Thru the Bible (ttb.org). Dr. McGee leads folks on what he calls the “Bible bus,” a five-year ride that journeys through every verse of scripture, beginning at Genesis 1 and coming its final stop at Revelation 21. I grabbed a seat on the Bible bus along the middle of the road, when Dr. McGee was explaining the life and trials of King David in the book of Kings.

Today is a big day for me. The Bible bus has begun its journey again, and this time I’ve dashed aboard ahead of everyone else for a front row seat. I cannot wait for the wheels to turn for I know that each 30-minute daily ride will be filled with truth, wisdom, laughter, history and biblical guidance.

I look forward to my morning Bible study on the bus, coffee cup in hand, more than any other part of my day. The last three years with Dr. McGee as my tour guide have helped me better understand who my father in Heaven is, what my role on earth should be, and how to be a better mother, wife, friend and Christian. I have learned that without reading all of the scriptures I would have never understood the ways of the world or found peace through Jesus despite the fact that I live on it. Only God knows all, but I now know enough answers to life’s questions that I am no longer crippled by doubt, superstition or fear. This is a good place to be my friends. A good place to be.

I’ll close today with the following poem which was read by Dr. McGee many years ago, and I’ll save a seat for you, just in case you decide to jump on the bus with the rest of us!

When You Read the Bible Through
I supposed I knew my Bible,
Reading piecemeal, hit or miss,
Now a bit of John or Matthew,
Now a snatch of Genesis,
Certain chapters of Isaiah,
Certain psalms (the twenty-third),
Twelfth of Romans, First of Proverbs,
Yes, I thought I knew the Word!
But I found that thorough reading
Was a different thing to do,
And the way was unfamiliar
When I read the Bible through.
You who like to play at Bible,
Dip and dabble, here and there,
Just before you kneel, aweary,
And yawn through a hurried prayer;
You who treat the Crown of Writings
As you treat no other book–
Just a paragraph disjointed,
Just a crude impatient look–
Try a worthier procedure,
Try a broad and steady view;
You will kneel in very rapture
When you read the Bible through!
–Amos R. Wells

This entry was posted in Word of God and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

