Dollar Signs Danced Before My Eyes

I played with temptation recently, to the tune of $2 in extra income per month.

Out of the blue, an e-mail popped up in my inbox asking if I was interested in a particular position – a very nice particular position, referred by a former coworker.

Have I mentioned before that I love my job? I love my job. And my boss, my colleagues and the Savannah College of Art and Design (SCAD) itself. SCAD is the university for creative careers. We’re talking animation, architecture, fashion, film and TV, game development, painting, photography, sculpture and so much more. For 10 months now I’ve had the pleasure of witnessing what I consider SCAD’s personal mix of magical fairy dust sprinkle across the South. This is the only explanation I have for the university’s total awesomeness. Well, that and the incredibly talented faculty and staff that are employed here. Everything the university touches turns to gold.  Seriously. If you’ve never heard of the Savannah Film Festival, SCADpad or SCADstyle, just to name a few, you ought to check it out. Fairy dust aside, my tenure thus far has been a ride of sheer amazement, wonder, disbelief and heartfelt pride. I’ve become loyal. Branded.

scad_2

Savannah Film Festival

The team

The office took me out to lunch for Administrative Assistant Day! I am SO blessed!

Still, it can’t hurt to listen to what the nice lady on the other end of my inbox has to say, right?

Wrong. After the first conversation, which included a potential salary, dollar signs danced before my eyes. How do I pass over the opportunity to make hundreds of dollars more per month? That kind of extra income could help feed my addiction to car racing, or at least pay for another set of tires. In racing, there’s always a need for more money. About a year and a half ago I roached a 5.4L engine. Oops.

The praying commenced. I’ve learned my lesson about making decisions without consulting God first, a topic for another post. “Lord, please let me do your will, whatever that is.” Bill and I talked about the opportunity ad nauseam for days. This lead to more prayers. “Lord, after weighing the pros and cons, I know full well what the proper decision should be.”

In the end, it all boiled down to money.

Money, in and of itself, can be used to do a lot of good. Placing money above what makes sense and what feels right? Not good. That falls into the category of, “worshiping a false idol.

I turned down the second interview, to which the nice lady on the other end of my inbox said:

Thank you for letting me know and I completely understand. While I think you have great experience and we want you to join (omitted) team, I’m happy that you’re in a position you love! If at some point down the road you are interested in exploring opportunities, please do reach out. -K

Although my human nature yearns for that extra income, leaving SCAD would be nothing short of worshiping the almighty dollar. I have more reasons to stay than to leave. In fact, the ratio is about 10:1. Still, for most of us, that 1 is a very persuasive 1.

God warns us about worshiping money. He says:

No one can serve two masters. Either you will hate the one and love the other, or you will be devoted to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve both God and money. Matthew 6:24

I’ll keep to the will of God, thank you very much. As should you. Seek God’s council in all that you do to ensure that your priorities are in order. Following a path outside of God’s will is sure to lead down a rocky road.

I’m confident I made the right decision. Conviction is knowing you are in God’s will.

This entry was posted in Idolatry, Temptation, Work and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dollar Signs Danced Before My Eyes

  1. Pingback: When the Army Gives You 90 Days to Move to Korea | Naked I Will Depart

  2. Pingback: All the Riches I’ll Ever Need | Naked I Will Depart

Leave a Reply

