I Think I Need a Glass of Wine

The other night I came home and flopped on the couch, desperately needing to decompress. It was long day. I’d run so many errands for my job that I’d parked and re-parked my car 7 times. Not kidding. Do you know how hard it is to find parking in downtown Savannah? To make matters worse, my feet were swollen from running in my heels; that’s what you do when you offer bottled water in meeting, the closest bottled water is two blocks away and I want it to appear as though I casually walked down the hall to get it.

By God, I will be the best Executive Assistant this side of the Mississippi. And wife. And mother.

I think I need a glass of wine.

Meet Adam, or Skylar, whichever you’d like to call him. He answers to both.

Adam or SkylarAdam, let’s go with Adam, does not run in heels for a living. He’s a tour guide here in Savannah, and from what I understand, a great one. I can hear the cheers and laughter from the tourists every time he’s finished his spiel more than a block away. I’m pretty sure he loves his job.

I love my job too, swollen feet and all. I can whip up a spreadsheet like nobody’s business, organize an international agenda or play Tetris with executive calendars all day long. That’s my bread and butter. Which goes great with a glass of wine, by the way.

Adam recounts history for a living. He works outside in the beautiful Savannah sunshine each and every day. In between gigs, he props his feet up on that brick wall he’s leaning against in the picture and reads a book. I know, I’ve watched the pages flip one too many times; I’ve begun to turn green with jealousy.

Each of us possesses unique skills and talents. God designed it that way. I can’ t entertain the masses day after day like Adam. I can’t come up with interesting activities for my children past day two, like so many of you wonderful stay-at-home mothers out there. I certainly can’t decorate, bake or work on cars for a living either.

We are all capable of doing something well. Do it to the glory of God, with honesty, loyalty, integrity and commitment. You can scrub toilets with commitment. Represent Him in all that you do.

One day God will ask you what you did with your life. This will be your time to give an account of how well you have represented Him during your time on earth.  What will your log book say?

This entry was posted in Character, Work and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Think I Need a Glass of Wine

  1. D. Sherman says:

    What if each morning your bank would deposit $86,400 in your private account for your use with the following caveats:

    1. Everything that you didn’t spend during each day would be taken away from you.
    2. You may not simply transfer money into some other account.
    3. You may only spend it.
    4. Each morning upon awakening, the bank opens your account with another $86,400 for that day.
    5. The bank can end the deposits without warning. At any time it can close the account and you will not receive a new one.
    What would you do?
    You would buy anything and everything you wanted, right? You would buy for yourself, for all the people you love and care for, and even for people you don’t know because you couldn’t possibly spend it all on yourself, right?
    You would try to spend every penny, and use it all, because you knew it would be replenished in the morning, right?

    Each of us is already a winner of this “prize”. This prize is TIME

    1. Each morning we awaken to receive 86,400 seconds as a gift of life.
    2. And when we go to sleep at night, any remaining time is NOT credited to us.
    3. What we haven’t used up that day is forever lost.
    4. Yesterday is forever gone.
    5. Each morning the account is refilled, but the bank can dissolve your account at any time WITHOUT WARNING …
    SO, what will YOU do with your 86,400 seconds?

    Those seconds are worth so much more than the same amount in dollars. Think about that and enjoy every second of your life, because time races by so much quicker than you think.

    First, love the Lord with all your might, Take care of yourself and your loved ones, be joyful, love deeply, and do your best during every second of your life.

    Now, start spending …

    Like

Leave a Reply

