It’s Not About Being Perfect. It’s About Getting the Word Out.

That’s exactly what Stephen and Christy Bautista do. I’m a bit jealous actually. They, and their 7 children, are a traveling missionary force to be reckoned with. The family journeys together in a small, modest RV year round, visiting churches across America. Their mission? Spread God’s Word through Stephen’s contemporary gospel music. Everything about them is real, unencumbered, pure and to the point; they are unafraid.

Bautistas

Stephen, Christy, Hannah (17), Marissa (15), Elisabeth (13), Emily (10), Elijah (8), Rebecca (5), Eliana (2) and Jedi (with the jar of peanut butter in his mouth)

About a month ago, Stephen, Christy and their children visited my church. Instead of the usual notes from the hymnal, Stephen refined tempos to familiar 17th and 18th century songs while strumming along with his guitar. It was brilliant.

The tone of Stephen’s voice reminds me of the 70’s band, America. In addition to their most popular songs, America also lulled me to dreamdom with the theme song to my favorite childhood movie, The Last Unicorn.

As Stephen played, I closed my eyes. Waves of emotions overcame me. Comfort. Familiarity. Gentleness. Magic. Beauty. All bit like my relationship with Jesus. Only, Jesus isn’t a fairytale.

Christy is no less amazing. Her highly successful blog regularly informs women all across the county that slowing down, taking on less and leaving perfection behind might be exactly what the doctor ordered. Oh, and all the while, incorporating the Word of God whenever appropriate. Read her posts for endless tricks and tips.

Speaking of taking on less, Christy let me in on a little secret: her past addiction to the family’s Netflix que. Trust me when I tell you that it was large. The purpose? Organization…to perfection. No way I can compete with that. Heck, at the time, I couldn’t even turn the notes I had accumulated in my journal into an actual blog someone besides myself could read. It just wasn’t perfect, not that I knew what “perfect” was.

Since secrets were being shared, I thought I’d let Stephen and Christy in on one of mine: my less-than-perfect, non-existent blog. Stephen chastised me. “If you wait for it to be perfect, it will never happen.”

Thanks.

No really, thanks. A couple of weeks later my blog went public. I let go. I realized that, just like the Bautistas, I had something to share, but no one would know if I couldn’t get past being perfect.

My blog has been viewed 168 times from folks in 4 different countries since I went live two weeks ago. These are modest numbers in comparison to probably any other blog out there, but it’s more than I would have had, were the notes I had been writing still sitting in the pages of my journal.

So now I am getting the Word out one blog at a time. It’s not quite as glamorous as traveling the countryside in an RV singing praises to God, but it’s still pretty cool. After all, I did get to interview the Bautistas.

This entry was posted in Christianity, Word of God and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s Not About Being Perfect. It’s About Getting the Word Out.

  1. Kelley says:

    You are exceptional Cassi!

    Like

Leave a Reply

